Wheat is a universal allergen which is very difficult to avoid. The help of a dietician should be enlisted when going on a wheat free diet. Wheat is a main ingredient of many foods such as:
- Breads, chapattis and naan breads, breakfast cereals, biscuits, crackers, crumpets, scones, pancakes, wafers, cakes, pizza, pasta, pastries and yorkshire puddings.
- It is also found in many convenience foods such as soups, sauces, spices, malted drinks, processed meats and ready- made meals.
People with wheat allergy should make sure they eat “wheat free” foods and not just gluten-free foods as gluten is only one of the proteins in wheat. If in turn they are allergic to the gluten component of wheat, then other sources of gluten such as rye, barley and some oats need avoidance too.
Wheat is very difficult to avoid completely and most wheat allergic people will have an accidental reaction at some stage. Caregivers in schools, family members and friends should know about the allergy and what to do in an emergency. This includes an action plan and accessible emergency medications.